Chris Currie (USA)

Hi! I’m Chris Currie and I’m from Dallas, Texas, in America.  I’ve been living in Krakow for nearly two years now, and am in an MA program in European Studies at Jagiellonian University.  I started interning at the Galicia Jewish Museum in October 2012.

me in verona
I am working at the Museum as I am very interested in art and the history of Poland and Polish Jews.  Interning at the museum has provided me with the opportunity to better understand this history and what the current situation is like.

In terms of what I like about Kraków, there’s so much! To summarize, in particular it’s the art and architecture (Krakow is an incredibly beautiful city!) and the vibe here.  It’s interesting how Krakow is the second largest city in Poland and extremely international and yet it still manages within the city centre to maintain an extremely intimate feel about it.

IMG_0075
When I have time I really like to go for a coffee at Tribeca Cafe on Market Square. It’s located within the Sukinica (Cloth Hall) building in the centre of the square so you look down onto everything that’s going by in the city without having all the crowds around you.  Also, the winter markets in Krakow are great with all of the foods you can sample!

IMG_0003

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.